Committees at Westminster

"For where two or three are gathered in my name, I am there among them." (Matthew 8:20)

Committees

Camp Henry Board

Executive Director: Jake Jacobs, jake@wpcgr.org, (616) 717-5565

This board is responsible for vision, strategic planning, fundraising, and policies of Camp Henry. 

Children's Ministries & Family Ministries

Staff: Nancy Greidanus / nancyg@wpcgr.org

This group envisions, plans, and oversees the educational themes and programming for children and their families. They also coordinate family events both for learning and fellowship, including the annual Westminster Camp at Camp Henry. They collaborate with other standing committees so that our vision of “family” is inclusive of our entire faith community.

Communications

Staff: Heather Colletto / heatherc@wpcgr.org

This committee develops strategy and goals for communicating the vision and ministry of Westminster through the various media of the congregation.

Community Ministries

Staff: Kyle Nolan / kylen@wpcgr.org

This committee works to deepen Westminster’s relationships with local organizations and increase our participation by connecting service opportunities with our members and their unique God-given talents. Westminster considers Community Ministries to be any mission work within Kent County. 

Deacons' Financial Ministry Team

Staff: Susan Jennings / susanj@wpcgr.org and Kathy Cisler / kathyc@wpcgr.org

This team serves members who seek assistance with their own financial challenges by accessing the deacons' fund and community and congregational resources. All requests are held in the strictest of confidences.

Facilities

Staff: Chris Bronson, chrisb@wpcgr.org

This committee monitors all maintenance items related to the buildings and the grounds, making formal recommendations to the Trustees as needed. 

Food Pantry Board

Director: Angie Kelley, angiek@wpcgr.org, (616) 717-5581

The board oversees the financial, administrative, and programmatic aspects of the busiest food pantry in Grand Rapids.

Health & Wholeness

Staff: Kyle Nolan / kylen@wpcgr.org

This committee explores the mental and physical health needs within our church and community to understand where Westminster might respond to the needs.

Justice & Peace

Staff: Kyle Nolan / kylen@wpcgr.org

This committee educates others on peace, justice, and poverty in order to call people to act. 

Membership Growth & Development

Staff: Susan Jennings / susanj@wpcgr.org

This committee helps develop and implement programming that assists in the welcoming and education of visitors. The group maintains and further develops the connectedness of our members through fellowship, small groups, education classes, etc. They also coordinate the Sunday morning greeter ministry.

Music

Staff: Helen Hofmeister / helenh@wpcgr.org

This committee helps envision and implement Westminster's music ministry, assisting the staff and various choirs and ensembles who participate in services. 

Nominating

Staff: Susan Jennings / susanj@wpcgr.org

This committee calls the next group of leaders (elders, deacons, trustees, etc.) to service of the church. Members of this committee are voted on by the congregation each January.

Spiritual Life & Learning

Staff: Rev. Jen Porter / jenp@wpcgr.org

This committee helps plans and implement themes, classes, and other learning opportunities for adults to help people form their faith throughout adulthood.

Stewardship

Staff: Rev. David Baak / davidb@wpcgr.org

This committee coordinates with staff to plan the annual stewardship campaign, encouraging our members to share time, talent, and treasure as we all serve as stewards of God’s resources.

Westminster Child Development Center Board

Staff: Amber Marz-Momany, WCDC Executive Director / amberm@wpcgr.org

The board sets policies and assists with fundraising, budgeting, and oversight of Westminster Child Development Center.

Worldwide Ministries

Staff: Kyle Nolan / kylen@wpcgr.org

This committee is responsible for Westminster's mission partnerships and investment outside of Kent County, with a focus on our partners in Benton Harbor and Cuba.

Worship

Staff: Rev. Chandler Stokes / chandlers@wpcgr.org

This committee reflects with the senior pastor on what happens in worship and assists in oversight, planning, and execution of worship services with attention to the liturgical calendar.

Westminster Presbyterian Adults

The purpose of the Older Adults Ministry is to provide spiritual, educational, and social opportunities for members 55 years and older. Luncheons are held throughout the year with speakers and entertainment, plus twice-yearly trips and an annual honoring of members who have been a part of Westminster for 50 or more years. 

Youth Ministries

Staff: Rev. Jeremy Bork / jeremyb@wpcgr.org

This committee is responsible for vision, setting policy, and budget oversight of the youth ministry, assisting with implementation of programs and volunteer recruitment for 6th-12th grades.